Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s a delicate topic, divorce.

But unfortunately, for some of us, it’s reality.

And today, I filed my divorce petition. After far too long procrastinating.

It marks something significant for me. We’ve been separated for almost 2 years. We live separate lives. We have worked out a way, slowly, of parenting together, apart. And it works for us, as well as anything that is, by anyone’s standards, less than ideal can work.

But filing for divorce is officially saying that’s that. I’m not going to be married any more. That whole period of my life? It’s in the past.

So a little ghost seemed the most fitting way to commemorate this moment. The divorce isn’t through yet, but the cogs have been set in motion.

And I need to leave the past behind.

This is a post for The Gallery, over at Sticky Fingers.